Body and Soul

As Landlord and Tenant

If you are new to this blog, Welcome. You may want to start reading the series of articles at the beginning, or pick an article from the Table of Contents.

My Soul and my Body have a sort of business arrangement.

My Body is the landlord. He is the host of my Soul. Without a physical body to inhabit, my Soul could not live and participate in this physical world. God set up a very strict rule about that. Souls with no bodies are not allowed to reside here on Earth.

My Soul pays rent. He supplies my Body with the one thing he needs most to survive – the Spark of Life. My Soul also provides direction and intelligence to my Body. My Body is just a bumbling fool when he tries to act without help from my Soul.

In addition to a place to live, my Body provides other amenities to make life in this physical world more comfortable for my Soul. My Body provides eyes to see the world around it, as well as brain function to help interpret the scene. My Body provides ears to hear music as well as warnings and communications from others. My Body also provides other senses, such as touch and the ability to detect warmth and cold. My Body provides transportation, in order to navigate around this physical world.

They need each other – Body and Soul. Neither could get by on this Earth without the other.

One of God’s greatest miracles is the interface that allows a constant and intimate communication between Body and Soul. This interface is so seamless that most folks don’t understand where Body leaves off and Soul begins.

My Body is made from imperfect and perishable materials. It has an amazing ability to replenish itself, but that ability has limitations. Several of the functions do not work as well as they once did. At 70 years and counting, age is starting to take its toll. My Body is a product of the physical realm and is made of materials that can’t escape it.

My Soul is a product of the spiritual realm. The spiritual realm is every bit as real as the physical realm, but modern western culture knows almost nothing about it. Some of the more “primitive” cultures, including the Native Americans, had a better understanding of the spiritual realm than our society does. Our science (if you can call it that) refuses to acknowledge anything except the physical and material realm. Our scientific community turns a blind eye to any evidence of spiritual entities, such as God, the Creator, our own Souls and Satan. This is an example of ignorance posing as enlightenment.

I’ve been told that my Soul can last forever! In light of that fact, I have been taking a few steps to strengthen and improve it. I have renewed my acquaintance with God, and have been on a quest to understand Him more completely. This quest has taken me to reading some very good books about God, Man, the Soul, Creation and the Universe. I am also reading more of God’s Instruction Book – the Bible. I am finding that the more my understanding increases and the more my faith matures, the more interesting the Bible becomes.

If our culture, and our education system, continues to reject all understanding of the spiritual realm, our society will continue to decay. However, there is a glimmer of hope in the knowledge that a few of our scientists are coming around to acknowledge God and the spiritual realm. See my Proof and Truth article and the mini-reviews of several books, especially The Spiritual Brain, in my Recommended Reading article.

Another way of expressing the relationship between Body and Soul is this: My Soul is my real self. My Body is its support system.

The thoughts expressed in this article are my own, and are based on conclusions and beliefs I have drawn from life experiences and my reading. I don’t claim to know, or fully understand, the details of the relationship between Body and Soul. This is a subject area that should be important to all of us, yet there is little information readily available. If you have something to add, please leave a comment.

Author: GrampaDennis

Semi-Retired Civil Engineer Have been searching for answers since 1947 Found a few, but looking for more

2 thoughts on “Body and Soul”

  1. Hi there! This blog post couldn’t be written much better! Looking at this post reminds me of my previous roommate!

    He always kept talking about this. I am going to send this article to him.
    Pretty sure he will have a very good read.
    I appreciate you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

