Who (or What) is God? – Part I

How I know God exists

A note from the author:  Welcome to my blog. If you would like to start this series of articles from the beginning, click here: Home.  I hope you enjoy the article.  Don’t forget to leave your comments.

I suspect I will have to come back and edit and expand this article a few times before I’m satisfied with it. After all, defining God is a pretty tall order! Let’s start with the existence of God:

God Exists!

That is a statement, not a question. I used to regard it as a question, but I have come to the point where I know God exists, I don’t just believe God exists! How am I so sure? Here are a few points that helped me to get where I am.

  • Some intelligent being designed the Universe and everything in it.
    • I do not believe that this marvelously complex universe happened by a series of unguided, random mutations.
      • I have heard that believing in this theory requires more faith than believing in God!
    • Study the plants
    • Study the animals
    • Study physics
    • Study astronomy
    • As science learns more and more about how things are made up, and how they work, they find more marvels. In my reading, I have found instances of top scientists finding that their belief in God is actually reinforced by the science they are learning.  Here is a link to a thorough discussion of the compatibility of science and religion by Albrecht Moritz, a scientist in the cellular communications industry:  How can a scientist believe in God?
  • For every question you can imagine, there is an answer somewhere.
    • Where are these answers?
    • Who knows them?
    • I say God knows them.
  • Truth is absolute.
    • A premise is either true or it’s false.
      • When you had True-False test questions in school, they didn’t offer you a Maybe choice, or even a Sometimes choice, did they?
    • In my opinion, the philosophy that there can be different truths for different people is malarkey!  Different people may honestly hold different understandings of the truth, but the truth itself remains the same.
    • Is there a repository of Truth somewhere?
    • Among His many fine characteristics, God is the Truth! (More on this in a future article)
  • There is a spiritual aspect of all of us, even you!
    • We are much more than a mass of skin, bones, blood, guts, water, minerals and chemicals.
    • Our conciousness and our physical brain do communicate with each other, but they are not the same thing.
    • We have a spirit (also known as a soul).
    • Many cultures, including the American Indians, know this well, and do not insist on it being scientifically proven to them.
    • God is a spirit (or likely a family of them, as in Father, Son and Holy Ghost)
  • Since my initial writing of this article, I have read a very interesting book that describes further proof of God’s existence.  See my article Proof and Truth for details.

Skeptics would say that I’ve gone pretty far out on a limb here. (By the way, it’s OK with me if you are a skeptic. I’ve been there.) If you are a skeptic, there is no way that I can prove God’s existence to your satisfaction. Sooner or later, everyone has to choose if he or she is going to believe in God. I choose to believe.

Some experts teach that belief and knowledge are ranges on a spectrum that runs from impossible to certain. When a strong belief gets up into the certain end of the spectrum, it is considered to be knowledge. The points listed above, along with my life experiences, provide sufficient evidence for me to say that I am certain that God exists in some form, even though I am not certain about His exact nature. Therefore, I claim to know, in my own heart, mind and soul, that God exists.

Note that I did not quote the Bible in my advocacy for the existence of God. I believe this is very important, if I am trying to convince anyone. We must first establish that God exists, before we can make a compelling argument for the authority and validity of the Bible. Otherwise, as someone I love very much once said to me, “The Bible is just a bunch of mumbo jumbo.”

Belief is where you need to start your foundation. If you choose to believe in God, great! We can go on to build a fine house from here.

If you are not convinced, and you choose not to believe in God, I pray you will keep an open mind and keep looking for answers.

If you are firm and content in your disbelief, and you will not keep looking, I wish you a good life and I pray that God will bless you and work on you anyhow.

In the next article, I will give you my thoughts about the nature of God.

Author: GrampaDennis

Semi-Retired Civil Engineer Have been searching for answers since 1947 Found a few, but looking for more

9 thoughts on “Who (or What) is God? – Part I”

  1. Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a very well written article.

    I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful information. Thanks for
    the post. I’ll certainly return.

    Like

  2. I’ve besn surfiing on-line more thann 3 hoyrs thesse days, yett I
    nesver ddiscovered aany attention-grabbing article like
    yours. It’s lovely wrth suficient ffor me.
    In mmy opinion, iff aall skte owwners and bloggsrs ade god content ass you prokbably did, thee nett will robably bbe a llot morre hellpful
    thhan ever before. I absoloutely lpve yohr website..
    Excelklent colorss & theme. Diid yoou maake thi web ssite yourself?
    Please replpy bac ass I’m hopingg tto create myy
    own persona website andd wajt tto knbow wyere youu got thjis
    fom orr exactlpy what the heme iss called.

    Thasnk you! I could not resaist commenting. Verry wel written!

    Like

    1. Friend, I don’t know what happened with your translator program, but I got the gist of it. Thanks for the high praise. Comments like yours encourage me to keep this writing exercise going!
      I am using WordPress. The Theme is called Twenty Sixteen. I used the built-in color options – there was a choice of two or three color schemes in the Theme.
      May God bless, guide and protect you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

